The Complete Greek Mythology Family Tree

Below are several family trees showing the pantheon of the Greek gods. The first, very large genealogy displayed the Greek deities based on Hesiod, Homer and many other writers, while the other trees were based on the more obscure Orphic myth.


Pantheon of Greek Deities
Pantheon from Orphic Myths    




Pantheon of Greek Deities


Zeus (god of thunder) Hera (goddess of marriage) Poseidon (god of the sea) Hades (god of the dead) Demeter (goddess of corn and fertility) Hestia (virgin goddess of hearth) Athena (goddess of war) Apollo (god of light and prophecy) Artemis (virgin goddess of wild animal Hermes (herald of the gods) Aphrodite (goddess of love) Ares (god of war) Dionysus (god of wine) Aphrodite (goddess of love) Hephaestus (artisan of the gods) Maia (Pleiade) Pleïone (mother of the Pleiades) Chaos Nyx (goddess of night) Erebus (god of darkness) Aether (upper air) Hemera (day) Eros (god of love) Tartarus Gaea (earth) Gaea (earth) Uranus (sky) Ourea (personification of mountains) Pontus (sea) Nereus (sea-god) Phorcys (god of sea?) Eurybia Eurynome Cronus (sky god) Rhea (mother goddess) Oceanus (sea-god) Tethys (sea-goddess) Hyperion (sun god) Theia Themis Mnemosyne (memory) Iapetus Coeus Phoebe Crius Atlas Epimetheus (afterthought) Prometheus (forethought) Dione (Titanese or Oceanid) Leto Asteria Pallas Perses Astraeus Metis (goddess of wisdom) Muses (goddesses of art and science) Graces (personifications of beauty and grace) Nemesis (goddess of retribution) Persephone (Underworld goddess) Hecate (goddess of witchcraft) Hypnos (god of sleep) Thanatos (god of death) Styx (Underworld river-goddess) Eos (goddess of dawn) Selene (moon goddess) Helius (sun god) Triton (sea-god) Proteus (sea-god) Thetis (sea-goddess) Amphitrite (sea-goddess) Doris (sea-goddess) Eileithyia (goddess of childbirth) Hebe (goddess of eternal youth) Eros (god of love) Eros (god of love) Moerae (Fates) Horae (Seasons) Perse (goddess of magic) Nike (goddess of victory) Iris (messenger goddess) Thaumas (god of sea?) Persephone (Queen of the Underworld) Zelus (Emulation) Cratus (Strength) Bia (Force) Electra (Oceanid) Eidothea (sea nymph) Pandora (first woman) Pyrrha (Flood heroine) Deucalion (king of Phthia & Flood hero) Helen of Sparta Circe (sorceress) Aeetes (king of Colchis) Pasiphae (wife of Minos of Crete) Heracles (Hercules) Semele Cadmus (king of Thebes) Harmonia Cyclopes Hundred-Handed (Hecatoncheires) Gigantes or Giants Ceto (sea monster Typhon Echidna

The main sources for this genealogy come from Hesiod, Homer and Apollodorus.

I have not given the name of all the individual deities, because they varied in numbers, like the Oceanids with 3000 sisters and the Nereids with 50 sisters, Muses have nine sisters and Graces have three sisters. The Pleiades (daughter of Atlas and Pleione) have 7 seven sisters, but I had only listed the Pleiad Maia, but I do have a full genealogy of the Pleiades.

Similarly, you will find that the Hundred-Handed, Cyclopes and the Gigantes can be found in another genealogy, titled Giants and Monsters.

According to other sources (like Apollodorus), the goddess Dione was sometimes seen as Titaness, but not in Hesiod’s Theogony, where she was an Oceanid (daughter of Oceanus). According to Homer and a few other writers, Dione was the mother of Aphrodite, but Hesiod say that Aphrodite was born from the blood of Uranus, mixing with the foamy sea. The female personification of the sea could be any one of the large number of sea goddesses (eg. Tethys, Doris, or even Dione).

If you are interested in the genealogy of the Roman deities, then see my new Roman Deities family tree.



Pantheon from Orphic Myths

The two family trees below are based on the myth of the Orphic Creation, which formed the foundation of the Orphic Mysteries. The two family trees are related to the Orphic myth of Protogonus-Zagreus-Dionysus.

The first family tree displayed that the first god was born from the Cosmic Egg, and he was named Protogonus. Protogonus was identified with Eros of the Hesiod’s myths, and he was popularly known as Phanes, the god of light or the sun.

In some account, Persephone was the daughter of Zeus and his Titaness mother Rhea. However, in other accounts, Persephone’s mother was Demeter. Whoever was Persephone’s mother, Zeus ravished his own daughter (Persephone) and she became the mother of Dionysus or Zagreus as he was known to the Neoplatonist authors.

Dionysus or Zagreus was sometimes seen as the reincarnation of Protogonus/Phanes, whom Zeus had swallowed. Phanes was then reborn as the son of Zeus and Persephone.


Zeus Hera (goddess of marriage) Demeter (goddess of corn and fertility) Persephone Zagreus or Dionysus Chronus (Time) Chronus (Time) Adrasteia or Ananke (Necessity) Chaos Erebus (Darkness) Nyx (goddess of night) Protogonus (First-born) or Phanes (Light) Aether (upper air) Gaea (earth) Uranus (heaven) Cronus (sky god) Rhea (mother goddess) Rhea (mother goddess) Hades Cosmic Egg (see Orphic Creation) Titans


The second family tree, shown below, displayed the reincarnation of the Zagreus: Dionysus. Here, Dionysus or Bacchus is the son of Zeus and the mortal woman Semele, who would later become the goddess Thyone.

According to the Neoplatonic writer, Proclus, Rhea became Demeter after Zeus was born. So this Demeter was in fact was Zeus’ mother, not his sister as most myth say. Zeus raped his mother Rhea or Demeter, and she became the mother of Persephone.

See the Orphic Creation.


Ares Aphrodite Zeus Cadmus (king of Thebes) Semele (deified as Thyone) Dionysus (Bacchus)

Pantheon of Greek Deities  |  Pantheon from Orphic Myths